Making a Difference for Women Awards 2011

Monday, February 28, 2011

Making A Difference for Women

Awards Dinner
Monday, February 28, 2011
6:00 PM * Reception and Awards Dinner
Cipriani Wall Street * 55 Wall Street * New York City

Join us for a stellar evening celebrating outstanding leaders who are making a difference in the lives of women and girls! To view the invitation, click here. To RSVP, click here or contact:, tel: (646) 786-1794 - And don't miss our Afternoon Program: Building a Pipeline to Women's Leadership. This event is free and open to the public, for details, click here.


Michelle Bachelet, Under-Secretary-General for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women, United Nations
Ed Gilligan, Vice Chairman, American Express
Peter and Patricia Gruber, Founders, The Peter & Patricia Gruber Foundation
Muriel Siebert, Founder, President & CEO, Muriel Siebert & Co. Inc.
Ruth J. Simmons, President, Brown University

SPOTLIGHT -- Feminist Icons
Susan McGee Bailey
Charlotte Bunch
Sara Gould
Geeta Rao Gupta
Mary Hartman
Joyce Roche
Marie Wilson


Natalie Morales, Today Co-Host and NBC National Correspondent

Kenneth I. Chenault, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, American Express
Michelle R. Clayman, Managing Partner and Chief Investment Officer, New Amsterdam Partners
Lucie Lapovsky, Board Chair, National Council for Research on Women
Kathy LeMay, President and CEO, Raising Change
Rosie Rios, Treasurer of the Unitied States, Department of the Treasury
Zainab Salbi, Founder & CEO, Women for Women International
Melanne Verveer, U.S. Ambassador-at-Large, Global Women's Issues
Kay Warren, Director, Pembroke Center, Brown University
Melinda Wolfe, Head of Professional Development, Bloomberg


For directions from the Afternoon Program at American Express to the Awards Dinner at Cipriani Wall Street, click here.





Barnard College
Linda and Samuel Basch
Mayree Clark
Edith Cooper
Dina Dublon
Sara L. Engelhardt
Elizabeth Horton and James Silbert
Lydia G. Mallett
Nancy Meyer and Marc Weiss
Christine Russell
Ruth Simmons
Barbara Winslow
Betty Yarmon


Arielle Basch
Mary Bleiberg
Bunker Hill Community College
Chadick Ellig
Charlotte B. Beyer Institute for Private Investors
Piers Cornelius
Mary Detherage
Christine Doudna
Dr. Lorna Duphiney Edmundson
Arlene Goldsmith
Sarah G. Gund
Sylvia Ann Hewlett
Barbara Hoey
Eleanor V. Horne
Shirley Ferguson Jenks
Julie Johnson
Michael Kelleher
G. Oliver Koppell
Lucie and David Lapovsky
The McGraw-Hill Companies
Littler Mendelson, P.C.
Leah Modigliani
Debra L. Morrison
Heather Johnston Nicholson
Cathy Raphael
Lynda M. Sagrestano
Donna Shavlik
Eleanor Smeal
Deirdre Sullivan
Kate Swann
Mary H. Swann
Davia B. Temin
Syracuse University
Susan Wefald
Wellesley Centers for Women
Lynn Yeakel and Catherine Ormerod
Soon-Young Yoon





American Express

Michelle Clayman, New Amsterdam Partners

Marge Magner, Brysam Global Partners

Sharon Taylor, Prudential Financial

Melinda Wolfe, Bloomberg L.P.



Goldman, Sachs & Co.

Ana Duarte McCarthy, Citi

Sunita Holzer, The Chubb Group of Insurance

Kerrie Peraino, American Express

Cynthia Trudell, PepsiCo






Subha Barry, Freddie Mac

Annalisa Jenkins, Bristol-Myers Squibb

Honorary Chairs

Joanna Barsh
Susan V. Berresford
Charlotte Bunch
Pamela J. Craig
Eve Ensler
Helene Gayle
Donna P. Hall
Donna Shavlik
Gloria Steinem
Marna Whittington

Dinner Committee

Eleanor Horne, Chair
Linda G. Basch
Rachel Cheeks-Givan
Kathy Cloninger
Ana Duarte McCarthy
Kathleen Lundquist
Kerrie Peraino
Lisa Quiroz
Donna Shavlik

*List of Dinner Leadership as of January 5, 2011

Personal Tributes

Pay tribute to a woman who has made a difference in YOUR life. We will be featuring tribute honorees in our Awards Dinner program. Recipients will be notified of the award and receive a copy of the Awards Dinner program by mail. To participate, fill out the Tribute form and follow the instructions for submission.

For further information please contact: NCRW Benefit Office at 
or tel: 646.786.1794