Member Center Awards 2012

Tuesday, March 6, 2012
NCRW Announces 2012 Lifetime Achievement and Diversity Awards: MEDIA ALERT

(February 17, 2012) --The National Council for Research on Women is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2012 Member Center Awards:
* The Pembroke Center for Teaching and Research on Women at Brown University will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, and
* The Center for Women’s Intercultural Leadership at St. Mary’s College in Notre Dame, IN, will receive the Diversity and Inclusion Award.

The Pembroke Center at Brown University will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for its 30-year legacy of advancing women’s research and feminist scholarship. From theory development, to training the next generation of researchers, to promoting the exchange of ideas through its academic journal, the Pembroke Center has had a significant and lasting impact on women’s studies in the United States.

The Center for Women’s Intercultural Leadership at St. Mary’s College will receive the 2012 Diversity and Inclusion Award for its strong commitment and inclusive view of diversity that embraces national, international, and multi-cultural diversity. The Center incorporated a diverse pool of women in their women’s leadership development initiative and successfully expanded study abroad programs to include more countries.

The Awards will be announced officially at NCRW’s Making a Difference for Women Awards Dinner at Cipriani Wall Street, NYC on March 6th. A Member Center Awards celebration will also take place at NCRW’s Annual Conference Agenda-setting 2012 Nationally and Globally - Leveraging Women's Voices that will be held at the Georgetown University Conference Center in Washington, D.C. June 20-22.

NCRW Member Center Awardees are nominated by their peers and selected by a designated Awards Committee of NCRW’s Board of Directors. Awardees are recognized for outstanding achievement in research, policy, and/or advocacy that improves knowledge about the lives of women and girls.



Natae Eaves, a National Urban Fellow, has joined the staff of NCRW and will be supporting the Awards application process.  Please send your logistical questions to Natae at  If you would like to email your application, please send it to

For other questions related to these awards, please contact
Shyama Venkateswar. We look forward to receiving your application.
Awards will be announced in April 2011.

Member Center Lifetime Achievement Award: recognizes continuing innovative work and lasting impact on knowledge, research, policy, or action.

Advocacy Award: recognizes an outstanding policy or programmatic initiative or advocacy campaign that builds on action-oriented research. The award will go to a Member Center that has worked to alter the political landscape for women or influenced public policy outcomes at the local, state, national or global level. The project must have been launched by December 1, 2010. 

Research and Scholarship Award: recognizes a Member Center for recent outstanding research and the production of knowledge built on theoretical perspectives that advance understanding of the experiences of women and/or girls in society.

Emerging Center Award: recognizes a Member Center that was established, joined the Council as a Member Center, or experienced a significant change in mission or growth within the last 5 years. Accomplishments may include programs or products that have had significant impact on the lives of women and/or girls, innovative funding strategies, or new leadership directions.
Diversity and Inclusion Award: recognizes a Member Center that has diversified its leadership, governance, administration and/or its program, policy, advocacy or research activities to incorporate people from under‑represented groups. Particular consideration will be given to programs that address historic exclusions in the U.S., such as race, gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation, ability and/or that work across generation and class.


A Member Center or an affiliated individual must be nominated, and an application completed, to be considered for an award. Nominations can be made by any third parties or Member Centers can self–nominate. Nominations must be received by December 1, 2010. For Applications, click here.


The Council’s Board of Directors will make the final selection of awardees based on the recommendation of the Awards subcommittee of the Member Center Committee. The Awards subcommittee is appointed by and reports to the Member Center Committee. It is comprised of current and former Directors of NCRW Member Centers, past award recipients, and at least one Council Board member. Member Centers whose Directors sit on the Council’s Board are not eligible to receive an award.

All information submitted for consideration remains confidential to the Awards subcommittee, the Board and relevant support staff.

Award winners will receive one registration fee waiver to attend an NCRW Conference in the year of the award. Travel stipends may also be available, depending on funding. Awardees are required to attend an NCRW national or regional Conference and to accept the award in person.

Please submit applications and supporting documentation to: Member Center Awards Committee,

National Council for Research on Women, 11 Hanover Square, 24th Floor, New York, NY 10005 or email:

For more information, please click here [URL: ] for a full description and application, or contact Natae Eaves at, tel: 212-785-7335 x 204

Past awardees

The Association of American Colleges and Universities
Boise State University Gender Studies Program
The Center for American Women and Politics, Rutgers University
The Center for the Education of Women (CEW) at the University of Michigan
The Center for the Study of Women in Society at the University of Oregon
The Consortium on Race, Gender and Ethnicity (CRGE) at University of Maryland, College Park
The Feminist Press at the City University of New York
The Girl Scout Research Institute
The Institute for Research on Women and Gender at Columbia University (IRWAG)
The Institute for Women’s Research (IWPR)
The International Center for Research on Women (ICRW)
The National Women’s Studies Association (NWSA)
Southwest Institute for Research on Women, University of Arizona
Tulane’s Newcomb College Center for Research on Women
The Wellesley Centers for Women at Wellesley College
The White House Project for their Vote, Run, Lead Campaign
The Women’s Environment and Development Organization (WEDO)
Women’s Research Institute of Nevada
"We have received great recognition and congratulations from partners all over the world who recognize the importance of the NCRW Advocacy Award. It has reinforced the critical importance of the work we do linking women's/gender issues to environmental/sustainable development issues. The NCRW Advocacy Award led to media attention as well as recognition in an external evaluation. We would encourage all NCRW member centers to apply or nominate others." Monique Essed-Fernandes, Interim Executive Director, Women's Environment & Development Organization (Recipient of NCRW Advocacy Award 2010)
"As a result of the NCRW Emerging Center Award, the Boise State University Gender Studies Program received some much needed publicity at a time in which the program faced budget cuts due to the recession. This Award raises the visibility of recipients in the community, among peers, decision-makers, and resource allocators. It provides national recognition for research and scholarship that can be leveraged during budget negotiations, promotions, and competitive grant applications. Without a doubt, I would encourage others to apply." Lisa McClain, Director, Gender Studies Program, Boise State University (Recipient of NCRW Emerging Center Award 2010)